what is vegan

Is gluconate de calcium vegan?

Gluconate de calcium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gluconate de calcium?

Gluconate de calcium, also known as calcium gluconate, is a mineral supplement commonly used to treat low levels of calcium in the blood. It is made by combining calcium and gluconic acid, resulting in a white, odorless powder that is easily soluble in water. Calcium is an essential mineral that is required for strong bones and teeth, nerve function, muscle contraction, and blood clotting. Gluconate de calcium is often added to foods and beverages as a fortifying agent or used as a nutritional supplement in tablet or capsule form. It is also used in the medical field to treat calcium deficiencies, muscle cramps, and certain heart conditions.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gluconate de calcium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy