what is vegan

Is glukoosi-fruktoosisiirappi vegan?

Glukoosi-fruktoosisiirappi is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is glukoosi-fruktoosisiirappi?

Glukoosi-fruktoosisiirappi is a sweet, thick, and viscous syrup made from a mixture of glucose and fructose. It is commonly used as a sweetener in many processed foods, such as soft drinks, baked goods, and candies, due to its high fructose content. The syrup is made by breaking down cornstarch into glucose, and then converting some of the glucose into fructose through a chemical process. Glukoosi-fruktoosisiirappi is often used as a substitute for sugar because it is less expensive and easier to handle in manufacturing. However, it has been criticized for its potential negative impact on health, including contributing to obesity, type 2 diabetes, and other health issues.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like glukoosi-fruktoosisiirappi?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy