what is vegan

Is glumatic acid vegan?

Glumatic acid is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is glumatic acid?

Glutamic acid is a non-essential amino acid that is commonly found in plant and animal protein sources. It plays an important role in the human body as a neurotransmitter, helping to transmit messages between nerve cells. In addition to its physiological functions, glutamic acid is also widely used as a flavor enhancer in the food industry, where it is known as monosodium glutamate (MSG). As an ingredient, it can help to bring out the natural flavors of foods and create a savory or umami taste. However, some people may experience adverse reactions to MSG, so it is important to use it in moderation and be aware of potential sensitivities.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like glumatic acid?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy