what is vegan

Is glycyrrhizine vegan?

Glycyrrhizine is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is glycyrrhizine?

Glycyrrhizine is a natural compound found in the roots of the licorice plant. It is widely used as a flavoring agent in confectionery, soft drinks, and tobacco products. Besides its sweetening properties, glycyrrhizine has been shown to have anti-inflammatory and antioxidant effects, and is being researched for its potential use in treating various health conditions, such as hepatitis, arthritis, and even cancer. However, it should be noted that excessive consumption of glycyrrhizine can lead to adverse side effects, such as high blood pressure and potassium loss, especially in people with pre-existing medical conditions.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like glycyrrhizine?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy