what is vegan

Is benzoato sodio vegan?

Sodium benzoate is a commonly used food preservative that is derived from benzoic acid, a natural compound found in many fruits and vegetables. This white crystalline powder is highly soluble in water and has a slightly sweet taste. It is used in a variety of food products, such as soft drinks, juices, jams, and pickles, to prevent the growth of bacteria, yeast, and fungi, thus extending the shelf life of the product. While it has been deemed safe for consumption by regulatory agencies, some studies have raised concerns about its potential health effects when consumed in large amounts.

Benzoato sodio is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ūüĎá

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like benzoato sodio?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app ūüôĆ

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy