what is vegan

Is y acido lactico vegan?

Y acido lactico is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is y acido lactico?

"Y ácido láctico" is a Spanish phrase that translates to "and lactic acid" in English. Lactic acid is a naturally occurring organic acid that is produced in the body during intense exercise and is also found in many foods, including fermented vegetables, dairy products, and pickles. It is commonly used in food manufacturing as a preservative, flavor enhancer, and pH regulator. Additionally, it is used in the production of many household products such as detergents, soaps, and shampoos. Lactic acid is safe for consumption in moderate amounts and is generally recognized as safe (GRAS) by the FDA.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like y acido lactico?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy