what is vegan

Is goma de gellan vegan?

Goma de gellan is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is goma de gellan?

Goma de Gellan is a natural and versatile food ingredient that is derived from the fermentation of sugars by bacteria. It is commonly used as a gelling agent, stabilizer, and thickener in a wide range of food products, including dairy, confectionery, and beverages. What sets Goma de Gellan apart is its ability to create a high-strength gel at low concentrations, making it an efficient alternative to other gelling agents. It also has excellent heat and acid stability, which makes it suitable for use in a variety of processing conditions. Additionally, Goma de Gellan is vegan-friendly and has no known allergens, making it a safe choice for a broad range of consumers.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like goma de gellan?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy