what is vegan

Is goma de xantana vegan?

Goma de xantana is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is goma de xantana?

Goma de xantana, also known as xanthan gum, is a natural polysaccharide produced by fermenting glucose or sucrose with the bacterium Xanthomonas campestris. This ingredient is widely used in the food industry as a thickener, stabilizer, and emulsifier. Goma de xantana is highly versatile, as it can withstand a wide range of temperatures and pH levels, making it ideal for use in a variety of food products. It is also commonly used in gluten-free baking to mimic the texture and elasticity of gluten. Due to its natural origin and effectiveness, goma de xantana has become a popular alternative to synthetic thickeners and stabilizers in the food industry.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like goma de xantana?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy