what is vegan

Is gomme de cellulose vegan?

Gomme de cellulose is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gomme de cellulose?

Gomme de cellulose, also known as cellulose gum or carboxymethyl cellulose, is a plant-derived food ingredient commonly used as a thickening agent, stabilizer, and emulsifier in a wide variety of processed foods. It is made from the cellulose found in wood pulp or cotton fibers, which is chemically treated to create a white, odorless, and tasteless powder that is highly soluble in water. Due to its ability to improve texture and viscosity in foods, gomme de cellulose is frequently found in products such as salad dressings, ice cream, baked goods, and sauces. It is also used in some pharmaceuticals and personal care products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gomme de cellulose?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy