what is vegan

Is gomme de gellane vegan?

Gomme de gellane is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gomme de gellane?

Gomme de gellane, also known as gellan gum, is a food ingredient that is derived from naturally occurring bacteria. It is a versatile and commonly used thickener, stabilizer, and gelling agent in the food industry. Gellan gum can be used in a wide range of products, including dairy, beverages, desserts, sauces, and dressings. It is a vegan and gluten-free alternative to traditional thickeners like gelatin, making it popular in the plant-based and allergen-free food markets. Gomme de gellane has unique properties that allow it to form gels with excellent clarity and stability, making it a valuable ingredient in many food formulations.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gomme de gellane?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy