what is vegan

Is gommes de xanthane et guar vegan?

Gommes de xanthane et guar is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gommes de xanthane et guar?

Gommes de xanthane et guar, also known as xanthan gum and guar gum, are natural food ingredients commonly used as thickeners, emulsifiers, and stabilizers in various food products. Xanthan gum is derived from the fermentation of corn sugar, while guar gum comes from the ground endosperm of guar beans. These gommes are often used in gluten-free baking to improve the texture and moisture retention of baked goods. They are also used in sauces, dressings, and ice creams to prevent separation and improve mouthfeel. Despite being additives, gommes de xanthane et guar are generally considered safe for consumption and have no known adverse health effects.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gommes de xanthane et guar?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy