what is vegan

Is gumă xantan vegan?

Gumă xantan is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gumă xantan?

Xanthan gum is a natural thickener and stabilizer commonly used in food products. It is produced by fermenting glucose or other sugars with a specific strain of bacteria called Xanthomonas campestris. The resulting gum is a white powder with excellent water-holding properties and high viscosity. It can be used in a variety of foods, including salad dressings, sauces, bakery products, and ice cream. Xanthan gum is gluten-free and can also be used as a substitute for gluten in recipes. It is a popular ingredient in gluten-free baking as it provides structure and elasticity to the dough. Additionally, xanthan gum has a low caloric value and is considered safe for consumption by most people.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gumă xantan?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy