what is vegan

Is hydrogenated tallow acid vegan?

Hydrogenated tallow acid is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydrogenated tallow acid?

Hydrogenated tallow acid is a type of fatty acid that is derived from the hydrogenation of tallow, a substance made from animal fat. This ingredient is commonly used in the food industry as a stabilizer, emulsifier, and thickener. Hydrogenated tallow acid has a high melting point and can be solid or semi-solid at room temperature. It is often used in the production of margarine, baked goods, and snack foods. While hydrogenated tallow acid is widely used in the food industry, it has been controversial due to its high levels of saturated fat, which has been linked to negative health effects.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydrogenated tallow acid?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy