what is vegan

Is hydrolyzed corn gluten vegan?

Hydrolyzed corn gluten is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydrolyzed corn gluten?

Hydrolyzed corn gluten is a highly processed food ingredient that is derived from corn. The process of hydrolyzing involves breaking down the protein in corn gluten into smaller amino acid chains, making it easier to digest and absorb by the human body. This ingredient is commonly used as a flavor enhancer and thickening agent in various packaged foods, including sauces, soups, and snacks. It is also used in some pet foods as a source of protein. Hydrolyzed corn gluten is often considered safe for consumption, but those with corn allergies should avoid products containing this ingredient.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydrolyzed corn gluten?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy