what is vegan

Is iron gluconate vegan?

Iron gluconate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is iron gluconate?

Iron gluconate is a type of iron salt that is commonly used as a food additive to fortify products with additional dietary iron. This ingredient is made by combining a form of iron with gluconic acid, which helps increase the bioavailability and absorption of the mineral in the body. Iron gluconate is often added to foods such as cereals, bread, and supplements to boost their nutritional value and prevent iron deficiency anemia. It is also used in the pharmaceutical industry to create iron supplements and medications. Despite its effectiveness, excessive consumption of iron gluconate may lead to digestive discomfort and other adverse effects.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like iron gluconate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy