what is vegan

Is jarabes de sorbitol vegan?

Jarabes de sorbitol is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ­čĹç

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

ÔÇö Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ­čśü"

ÔÇö Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

ÔÇö D├│ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is jarabes de sorbitol?

Jarabes de sorbitol, also known as sorbitol syrup, is a sweetening ingredient commonly used in the food industry. It is a sugar alcohol that is derived from glucose and can be found naturally in fruits such as apples, pears, and peaches. This ingredient is used as a low-calorie alternative to sugar because it is about 60% as sweet but contains only about 2.6 calories per gram compared to sugar's 4 calories per gram. Jarabes de sorbitol is often used in sugar-free and low-carbohydrate products, such as candy, chewing gum, and baked goods. It is also used as a humectant to help retain moisture and improve texture in food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like jarabes de sorbitol?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ­čÖî
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy