what is vegan

Is lactato ferroso vegan?

Lactato ferroso is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is lactato ferroso?

Lactato ferroso, also known as iron lactate, is a food ingredient derived from the reaction between lactic acid and iron salts. This water-soluble compound is commonly used as a source of dietary iron in fortified foods and beverages. Lactato ferroso has a faint metallic taste and is easily absorbed by the body, making it an effective nutritional supplement for individuals with iron deficiency. Its light yellow to greenish color and low hygroscopicity make it a popular ingredient in a variety of food products, including baked goods, breakfast cereals, and infant formula. Overall, lactato ferroso is a safe and effective way to add iron to your diet while enjoying your favorite foods.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like lactato ferroso?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy