what is vegan

Is lactuca sativa vegan?

Lactuca sativa, commonly known as lettuce, is a leafy green vegetable with a crisp texture and a mild, refreshing taste. It belongs to the daisy family, Asteraceae, and is cultivated worldwide for its edible leaves. Lettuce is low in calories and a good source of vitamins and minerals, such as vitamin C, folate, and potassium. It comes in a variety of colors and shapes, including green leaf, red leaf, romaine, butterhead, and iceberg. Lettuce can be eaten raw in salads or sandwiches, or cooked in soups, stews, and stir-fries.

Lactuca sativa is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like lactuca sativa?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy