what is vegan

Is manitol vegan?

Mannitol is a natural sugar alcohol that is commonly used as a food ingredient and sweetener. It is a white, crystalline powder that has a sweet taste and is approximately half as sweet as regular sugar. Mannitol is found naturally in fruits and vegetables and is often used as a low-calorie alternative to sugar in a variety of products such as chewing gum, candy, and baked goods. Additionally, mannitol is known for its ability to bind with water molecules, making it a popular ingredient in pharmaceuticals, cosmetics, and medical devices. Mannitol is safe for consumption and has been approved by the FDA as a food additive.

Manitol is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like manitol?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy