what is vegan

Is mesi vegan?

Mesi is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is mesi?

Mesi is a type of sweetener that is popular in Haitian cuisine. It is made from squeezing the juice out of sugarcane and then boiling it down until it becomes a thick syrup. Mesi has a deep brown color and a rich, molasses-like flavor that is both sweet and slightly bitter. It is commonly used as a topping for pancakes, waffles, and other breakfast foods, as well as in baked goods and desserts. Aside from its culinary uses, mesi also has medicinal properties and is believed to help with digestion and boost energy levels.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like mesi?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy