what is vegan

Is métabisulfite de sodium e223 vegan?

Métabisulfite de sodium e223 is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is métabisulfite de sodium e223?

Métabisulfite de sodium E223 is a food preservative commonly used in the food industry to prevent the growth of bacteria and other harmful microorganisms. It is a white, crystalline powder with a slightly bitter taste and a sulfurous odor. E223 is a sulfite additive that is often added to wines, beers, and other beverages to prevent oxidation and maintain their color and flavor. It is also used in dried fruits, canned vegetables, and pickles to extend their shelf life. However, some individuals may be sensitive to sulfites and experience adverse reactions such as headaches or breathing difficulties.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like métabisulfite de sodium e223?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy