what is vegan

Is milchfermenten vegan?

Milchfermenten is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is milchfermenten?

Milchfermenten, also known as milk ferments, are cultures of microorganisms that are used to transform milk into various dairy products. These cultures consist of bacteria that break down lactose, the sugar found in milk, into lactic acid, which gives dairy products their characteristic tangy flavor and thick texture. Milchfermenten are commonly used in the production of yogurt, kefir, buttermilk, and sour cream, and are also used in the cheese-making process to acidify milk and create distinct flavor profiles. These cultures are a vital component of many traditional foods and are often added to modern recipes to enhance the taste and nutritional value of dairy products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like milchfermenten?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy