what is vegan

Is modified corns starch vegan?

Modified corns starch is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is modified corns starch?

Modified corn starch is a popular food ingredient that is derived from corn kernels. It is a white, odorless, and tasteless powder that is commonly used as a thickening agent in a variety of foods, including soups, sauces, and gravies. Modified corn starch is made by treating regular corn starch with chemicals or enzymes to alter its physical and chemical properties. This modification process allows the starch to withstand high temperatures, acidic environments, and freezing, making it a versatile and stable ingredient in many processed foods. With its ability to improve texture, viscosity, and shelf life, modified corn starch is a common ingredient in many food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like modified corns starch?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy