what is vegan

Is monodiglyceride vegan?

Monodiglyceride is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? ūüĎá

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

‚ÄĒ Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ūüėĀ"

‚ÄĒ Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

‚ÄĒ D√≥ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is monodiglyceride?

Monodiglycerides are a type of food ingredient that are commonly used as an emulsifier in processed foods, such as baked goods, margarine, and ice cream. They are made by combining a fatty acid with glycerol, resulting in a molecule with one or two fatty acid chains attached. Monodiglycerides are effective emulsifiers because they have both hydrophilic (water-loving) and hydrophobic (water-fearing) properties, which allows them to help combine and stabilize ingredients that would normally separate, such as oil and water. Additionally, monodiglycerides can improve the texture, flavor, and shelf life of food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like monodiglyceride?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ūüôĆ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy