what is vegan

Is inosinic vegan?

Inosinic is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is inosinic?

Inosinic acid is a naturally occurring flavor enhancer commonly used in processed foods to intensify the taste. It is a nucleotide that is found in various meats and fish, particularly in high concentrations in tuna and salmon. Inosinic acid is a key component of the umami flavor, which is described as savory, meaty, and rich. In the food industry, it is often used in combination with other flavor enhancers like monosodium glutamate (MSG) to create a more complex and robust taste. Although inosinic acid is generally recognized as safe, some people may experience allergic reactions, particularly those with a sensitivity to MSG.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like inosinic?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy