what is vegan

Is pentapotassium triphosphate vegan?

Pentapotassium triphosphate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is pentapotassium triphosphate?

Pentapotassium triphosphate is a food additive commonly used as a preservative, emulsifier, and texture enhancer. It is a white powder with the chemical formula K5P3O10 and is derived from phosphoric acid. Pentapotassium triphosphate is soluble in water and has a slightly alkaline taste. It is often added to dairy products, canned foods, and processed meats to improve their quality and extend their shelf life. Despite its widespread use in the food industry, some studies have raised concerns about its potential negative effects on human health, so it's important to consume pentapotassium triphosphate in moderation.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like pentapotassium triphosphate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy