what is vegan

Is pimienta de jamaica vegan?

Pimienta de jamaica is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is pimienta de jamaica?

Pimienta de Jamaica, also known as allspice, is a small, dark brown berry that is native to Jamaica and Central America. It derives its name from its complex, warm flavor that is reminiscent of a combination of cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. This versatile ingredient can be used in both sweet and savory dishes, from baked goods to marinades and rubs for meat. Pimienta de Jamaica is a key component of Jamaican jerk seasoning, and its unique taste makes it a popular addition to spice blends around the world. In addition to its culinary uses, pimienta de Jamaica is also believed to have medicinal properties, including pain relief and improved digestion.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like pimienta de jamaica?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy