what is vegan

Is polyglycerol fatty acid ester vegan?

Polyglycerol fatty acid ester is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is polyglycerol fatty acid ester?

Polyglycerol fatty acid esters are food additives commonly used as emulsifiers, which help blend ingredients that do not mix well. They are made by reacting fatty acids with polyglycerol, resulting in a mixture of ester molecules with varying degrees of polymerization. Polyglycerol fatty acid esters are used in a wide range of food products, including baked goods, dairy products, and confections, to improve texture, increase shelf life, and enhance flavor. They are generally considered safe for consumption and are approved for use in many countries around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like polyglycerol fatty acid ester?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy