what is vegan

Is pork jowl vegan?

Pork jowl, also known as guanciale in Italian cuisine, is a flavorful and fatty cut of meat from the pig's cheek. With its rich and complex taste, it's commonly used as a key ingredient in traditional dishes like carbonara or amatriciana pasta sauce. The curing process gives pork jowl a distinct aroma, making it an excellent choice for infusing with herbs and spices. When cooked properly, pork jowl becomes incredibly tender and juicy, with a deliciously crispy exterior. It's a versatile ingredient that adds depth and complexity to any dish.

Pork jowl is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? đŸ‘‡

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like pork jowl?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app đŸ™Œ

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy