what is vegan

Is pork leaf fat vegan?

Pork leaf fat is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is pork leaf fat?

Pork leaf fat is an essential ingredient in many traditional cuisines. It is a type of pork fat that comes from the internal layer of the belly, also known as leaf fat. Pork leaf fat has a high smoke point and is commonly used for frying and roasting due to its rich flavor and ability to add moisture and tenderness to dishes. Its creamy texture and subtle taste are perfect for use in pastries, pie crusts, and other baked goods. Pork leaf fat is also an excellent source of oleic acid, a healthy monounsaturated fatty acid that can help reduce cholesterol levels.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like pork leaf fat?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy