what is vegan

Is potassium acetate vegan?

Potassium acetate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is potassium acetate?

Potassium acetate is a versatile food ingredient that is commonly used as a food preservative and acidity regulator. It is a type of salt that is formed from the combination of potassium and acetic acid. Potassium acetate is a white crystalline powder that has a slightly sweet and salty taste, which makes it a popular choice for enhancing the flavor of various food products. This ingredient is particularly useful in the food industry because it has antimicrobial properties that can help extend the shelf life of certain foods, such as baked goods and meat products. Potassium acetate is also used in the production of some types of cheese, as well as in the preparation of certain sauces and dressings.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like potassium acetate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy