what is vegan

Is poudre de petitlait vegan?

Poudre de petitlait is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is poudre de petitlait?

Poudre de petitlait, also known as whey powder, is a dairy-derived ingredient that adds a creamy and slightly tangy flavor to food products. It is made by isolating the liquid residue from cheese production and then drying it into a fine powder. Poudre de petitlait contains all nine essential amino acids and is high in protein while being low in fat and carbohydrates. This versatile ingredient is commonly used in protein shakes and bars, baked goods, and as a thickening agent in soups and sauces. Its use in food manufacturing has grown steadily due to its many nutritional benefits and ability to enhance texture and flavor profiles.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like poudre de petitlait?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy