what is vegan

Is propionato de sódio vegan?

Propionato de sódio, also known as sodium propionate, is a chemical compound commonly used as a food preservative. It is a salt formed by the combination of propionic acid and sodium hydroxide. As a preservative, propionato de sódio is effective in inhibiting the growth of molds and some bacteria, thereby extending the shelf life of many baked goods, dairy products, and other processed foods. Propionato de sódio is considered safe for consumption and is widely used in the food industry as an alternative to other, less desirable preservatives.

Propionato de sódio is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like propionato de sódio?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy