what is vegan

Is redwood sorrel vegan?

Redwood sorrel is a leafy green herbaceous plant that grows in shady areas of the Pacific Northwest. Also known as Oxalis oregana, it has distinctive heart-shaped leaves with deep red veins and small white to pale pink flowers. This edible and tangy tasting plant is rich in vitamin C and oxalic acid, which gives it its tart flavor. It's often used as a garnish or salad ingredient, but can also be cooked and used in soups or stews. Redwood sorrel adds a unique and refreshing taste to any dish and is a favorite of foragers and chefs alike.

Redwood sorrel is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like redwood sorrel?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy