what is vegan

Is resinous glaze vegan?

Resinous glaze is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is resinous glaze?

Resinous glaze is a food ingredient that is commonly used as a coating or a glaze on confectionery products. It is a clear, glossy and slightly yellowish liquid that is made from a natural resin called shellac, which is secreted by the lac beetle. The resin is harvested, processed and purified to create a versatile glaze that is used in the food industry. Resinous glaze is prized for its ability to provide a durable and protective coating that enhances the appearance of confectionery products, while also providing a slight crunch and a sweet, nutty flavor. It is a popular ingredient in candies, chocolates, and other sweets, and is often used as an alternative to synthetic coatings and preservatives.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like resinous glaze?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy