what is vegan

Is sare vegan?

Sare is a versatile food ingredient that is commonly used in Indian and Middle Eastern cuisine. Also known as hing or asafoetida, sare has a pungent and savory aroma that is often compared to onions or garlic. It is derived from the resin of the ferula plant, which is native to Iran and Afghanistan. Sare is commonly used as a flavor enhancer in vegetarian dishes, particularly those that include legumes or root vegetables. It is also used as a digestive aid and has been traditionally used for medicinal purposes, particularly for its anti-inflammatory and anti-bacterial properties. Sare is available in both powdered and solid forms and should be used sparingly due to its potent flavor.

Sare is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sare?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy