what is vegan

Is shellac resinous glaze vegan?

Shellac resinous glaze is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is shellac resinous glaze?

Shellac resinous glaze is a food ingredient that is commonly used in the confectionery industry to give a glossy finish to candies, chocolates, and other sweets. It is made by dissolving shellac flakes in alcohol and filtering the solution to remove impurities. The resulting glaze is a natural and non-toxic way to add shine and protectiveness to food products. It is often used in place of synthetic coatings like wax, which can have unwanted chemical residues. Shellac resinous glaze is also used as a coating for pharmaceutical tablets and in the production of printing ink and varnishes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like shellac resinous glaze?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy