what is vegan

Is smakämnen vegan?

Smakämnen is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is smakämnen?

Smakämnen is a Swedish term that refers to flavorings or taste enhancers that are commonly used in cooking and food production. These flavorings can come in the form of natural extracts, artificial compounds, or a combination of both. Smakämnen are used to give food a desired taste or aroma, which can range from sweet, sour, bitter, or salty. Some common examples of smakämnen include vanilla extract, citric acid, monosodium glutamate (MSG), and various spices. With the help of smakämnen, chefs and food manufacturers can create unique and delicious flavors that can tantalize the taste buds of consumers.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like smakämnen?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy