what is vegan

Is sodium carboxy methyl cellulose vegan?

Sodium carboxy methyl cellulose is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sodium carboxy methyl cellulose?

Sodium carboxy methyl cellulose (CMC) is a versatile food ingredient commonly used as a thickener, stabilizer, and emulsifier. It is derived from cellulose, a natural polymer found in plants, and is often used in processed foods, dairy products, and baked goods. CMC is highly soluble in water, making it easy to mix into foods, and can improve texture, mouthfeel, and shelf life. Its ability to prevent ice crystal formation in frozen desserts also makes it a popular ingredient in ice cream. CMC is generally recognized as safe by regulatory agencies and has a long history of use in the food industry.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sodium carboxy methyl cellulose?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy