what is vegan

Is sodium carboxymethylcellulose vegan?

Sodium carboxymethylcellulose is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sodium carboxymethylcellulose?

Sodium carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) is a water-soluble polymer derived from cellulose. It's commonly used in the food industry as a thickener, stabilizer, and emulsifier. CMC is a versatile ingredient that can be found in a wide range of products, including ice cream, sauces, dressings, and baked goods. It's known for its ability to improve texture and viscosity, as well as enhance flavor release. CMC is also used in pharmaceuticals, cosmetics, and other industrial applications due to its unique properties. Despite some concerns about its safety, CMC is generally recognized as safe by regulatory agencies around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sodium carboxymethylcellulose?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy