what is vegan

Is sodium hydrogen malate vegan?

Sodium hydrogen malate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sodium hydrogen malate?

Sodium hydrogen malate is a food ingredient that acts as an acid regulator and provides a sour taste to products. It is formed by combining malic acid, sodium bicarbonate, and water. This white crystalline powder is commonly used in the production of flavored drinks, fruit juices, and dairy products, as it enhances the tartness of these foods. Sodium hydrogen malate is also known for its buffering capabilities, which helps maintain a stable pH level in processed foods, allowing them to have a longer shelf life. Overall, this versatile food ingredient is a popular choice for improving the taste and quality of various food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sodium hydrogen malate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy