what is vegan

Is sodium selenate vegan?

Sodium selenate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sodium selenate?

Sodium selenate is a chemical compound with the formula Na2SeO4. It is an odorless, white crystalline powder that is mainly used in dietary supplements and animal feed as a source of selenium. Selenium is an essential micronutrient that plays a crucial role in the body's antioxidant defense system and helps maintain thyroid function. Sodium selenate is also used in glass manufacturing, pharmaceuticals, and as a curing agent for leather. However, excessive intake of this ingredient can cause toxicity and harm to human health. It is important to consume it in moderation and under the guidance of a healthcare professional.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sodium selenate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy