what is vegan

Is sodium stearate vegan?

Sodium stearate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sodium stearate?

Sodium stearate is a white, odorless, and waxy substance that is derived from stearic acid, a type of fatty acid found in many animal and vegetable fats. It is commonly used as an emulsifier and a surfactant in various cosmetic and personal care products, such as soaps, shampoos, and toothpaste. Sodium stearate helps to bind ingredients together and create a smooth, creamy texture. It also has cleansing properties that help to remove dirt and oil from the skin and hair. In addition, sodium stearate can be used as a lubricant in the production of pills and tablets.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sodium stearate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy