what is vegan

Is sorbate d potassium vegan?

Sorbate d potassium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sorbate d potassium?

Potassium sorbate is a white, powdery salt that is commonly used as a food preservative to prevent the growth of harmful bacteria and mold. It is derived from sorbic acid, which is naturally found in some fruits and berries. Potassium sorbate is water-soluble and has a neutral taste and odor, making it ideal for use in a wide range of foods, including baked goods, dairy products, and beverages. It has been extensively tested and considered safe for consumption by regulatory agencies around the world. The effectiveness of potassium sorbate as a preservative can be enhanced when combined with other preservatives or used in conjunction with good manufacturing practices.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sorbate d potassium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy