what is vegan

Is sorbitane mono laurate vegan?

Sorbitane mono laurate is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sorbitane mono laurate?

Sorbitan mono laurate is a natural fatty acid derived from sorbitol and lauric acid. It is commonly used as an emulsifier and stabilizer in various food products such as bakery goods, confectionery, and dressings. Sorbitan mono laurate helps to improve the texture, appearance, and shelf-life of these products. It also enhances the dispersion of flavors and improves the overall mouthfeel of the food. This ingredient is non-toxic, non-irritating, and safe for human consumption. Sorbitan mono laurate is an essential ingredient for many food manufacturers as it provides the necessary functionalities for their products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sorbitane mono laurate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy