what is vegan

Is di-potassium guanylate vegan?

Di-potassium guanylate is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is di-potassium guanylate?

Di-potassium guanylate is a flavor enhancer commonly used in processed foods, soups, sauces, and snacks. It is a salt derived from guanylic acid, a nucleotide found naturally in many foods, including mushrooms and yeast extract. Di-potassium guanylate is often used in combination with other flavor enhancers, such as monosodium glutamate (MSG), to enhance umami taste, which is described as savory and meaty. It is considered safe for consumption by the FDA, and is often used as a substitute for MSG because it has a cleaner taste and is less likely to cause negative reactions in some people.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like di-potassium guanylate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy