what is vegan

Is sorbitantrioleate vegan?

Sorbitantrioleate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sorbitantrioleate?

Sorbitan trioleate is a common food ingredient that is derived from sorbitol and oleic acid. It is commonly used as an emulsifier in food processing to help mix water and oil-based ingredients. Sorbitan trioleate is a viscous, amber-colored liquid that is soluble in water and ethanol. It has a mild odor and a slightly bitter taste. This ingredient is often used in the production of baked goods, such as cakes, bread, and cookies, as well as in the manufacturing of chocolate, ice cream, and salad dressings. Sorbitan trioleate is considered safe for consumption by regulatory agencies such as the FDA.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sorbitantrioleate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy