what is vegan

Is tannic acid vegan?

Tannic acid is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is tannic acid?

Tannic acid is a naturally occurring substance found in plants such as oak bark, tea leaves, and grapes. It is known for its astringent properties, which make it useful in many industries, including food, medicine, and tanning. In food, tannic acid can be used as a flavor enhancer and as a preservative due to its ability to inhibit bacterial growth. It can also cause an interesting mouthfeel sensation when consumed, often described as a puckering or drying effect. Tannic acid has been used in traditional medicine for centuries, known for its anti-inflammatory and antioxidant effects. However, excessive consumption can have adverse effects on health, so it should be used in moderation.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like tannic acid?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy