what is vegan

Is weizendextrin vegan?

Weizendextrin is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is weizendextrin?

Weizendextrin is a versatile food ingredient derived from wheat starch. It is commonly used as a thickener, binder, or stabilizer in a wide range of food products, including soups, sauces, baked goods, and confectionery. Weizendextrin has excellent solubility in water and can form a clear solution, making it a popular choice for use in clear beverages and fruit juices. This ingredient also has a low sweetness level, which makes it an ideal substitute for sugar or high-fructose corn syrup in reduced-calorie food products. Weizendextrin is gluten-free, and its unique properties make it an excellent addition to a variety of food formulations.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like weizendextrin?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy