what is vegan

Is wijnsteenzuur vegan?

Wijnsteenzuur is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is wijnsteenzuur?

Wijnsteenzuur, also known as tartaric acid, is a naturally occurring organic acid that is commonly found in grapes, apricots, apples, and bananas. It is widely used in the food industry as an acidulant, flavoring agent, and preservative due to its unique sour taste and ability to enhance flavors. Wijnsteenzuur is also used in the production of wine, where it plays a critical role in controlling the acidity and pH levels during fermentation. In addition, wijnsteenzuur has several medicinal properties and is used in the treatment of kidney stones and metabolic disorders. Overall, this versatile ingredient adds a distinct tangy flavor to many of our favorite foods and beverages.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like wijnsteenzuur?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy